Mrs. Marin’s Learning To Teach Resource Blog

Becoming an ESL, Bilingual/Bicultural teacher one day at a time. This site is for future teachers and teachers of English Language Learners/ CLD. You will find resources in English and in Spanish that can serve as a guide in your journey.

Center for Human Enrichment (CHE) at UNC

Not many students know about this office at UNC. At AIMS Community College this program is called TRIO. These two places are student centers dedicated to help and serve as a resource to first generation students. While considering transferring to UNC in 2014, I was interested in finding student organizations to belong to.  As soon as I saw the Center for Human Enrichment website I wanted to apply.  I was very fortunate to contact Marina Orozco, who did a phone interview and a follow up of my application.

When Marina called me to welcome me to the program, I was thrilled. I was part of their biggest student transfer group. With me, there where a couple of non-traditional students who I got the pleasure to know very well. With CHE’s support,  I knew that I would be able to navigate UNC and also have access to more academic support.

Marina, my advisor at that time, along with the rest of the staff where key in my transition to UNC. I remember going to the CHE’s office and I would always find a friendly smile and warm words of support from all the staff, from the moment I walked in. This place became my study space, my advising place, my hiding place, my snack place and my “I need a break” place. I knew that if I had a question or struggle they would help me get through it. CHE became a pool of resources for me. This is where  I learned about other student organizations available to me. With their help, I slowly became acquainted with what UNC had to offer.

I will never forget their post cards and little notes or encouragement. These became constant reminders that I was on the right track and that I had all their support along the way. In addition, they organized an event where they recognized  students with a GPA 3.0. or higher. I was so surprised to get an invitation. Below are pictures of what they did. This small gesture made me smile.

Thanks Marina, Flora, Dr. B, Shawanna, Kyle and Seferino.

To learn more about CHE and how to become part of this amazing program, visit their website: http://www.unco.edu/che/about/index.html

Leave a Reply

Hola!

PriscilaMarin

PriscilaMarin

Latina mom, non-traditional student at the University of Northern Colorado. I am working on my degree in Elementary Education with English as a Second Language (ESL) endorsement and Bilingual Bicultural (CDL) endorsements. I am Bilingual in English and Spanish. Passionate about Bilingual, Elementary Education, ESL, ELL, Multiculturalism, Biculturalism #education #bilingualkids

View Full Profile →

Follow Mrs. Marin’s Learning To Teach Resource Blog on WordPress.com

UNC Graduation day countdown!

The Big Day!May 5th, 2017
A dream come true!
October 2016
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Follow me on Twitter

Giggles & Tales

A Potpourri of my Ramblings, Poems and More…

Filling the pail

"Education is not the filling of a pail, but the lighting of a fire." - As W. B. Yeats never said

When Women Inspire

Spotlighting inspirational women and ways you can make a positive impact too

WordDreams...

Jacqui Murray's

