Mrs. Marin’s Learning To Teach Resource Blog

Becoming an ESL, Bilingual/Bicultural teacher one day at a time. This site is for future teachers and teachers of English Language Learners/ CLD. You will find resources in English and in Spanish that can serve as a guide in your journey.

Tips on Taking the PRAXIS if you are a Spanish native speaker.

If you are an Elementary Major you will need to take this test. In order to register for it you need to go to this website Praxis website and create an account with your information.  Then you need to sign up for the “Elementary Education Content Knowledge (5018)” and decide on the place you want to take it.

As a second language learner myself, I have been very worried about this test since our first CUMBRES general meeting, when one of the seniors mentioned it and have being fearing it ever since. I wish my teachers AIMS had mentioned it, because I had no idea. What worries me is that I didn’t go to school in the U.S.A. I still had to remind myself that the test is based on what children learn in Elementary school (k-5 grade).

The website can be overwhelming, but just remember what you are exactly looking for. When I was searching for resources on how to study for this test, I clicked through all of the Quick links and found that on the Accommodations for Test Takers with Disabilities or Health-related Needs they offer other accommodations that are not disability or ahealth-related need. So, I liked on “Other accommodations” and to my surprise I found there is extended time for Non-English speakers, here is the link to that page: “Extended Test Time for Test Takers Whose Primary Language Is Not English (PLNE)”

To apply you have to PRINT and MAIL:

  1. Complete the Certification of Documentation Form (PDF)
  2. Complete the Eligibility Form for Examinees Whose Primary Language Is Not English (PDF).
  3. Complete the Test Authorization Voucher Request Form (PDF).
  4. Mail approximately four weeks prior to your intended test date.
  5. For Card payment mail ALL documents to this address: ETS – The Praxis Series, P.O. Box 6054, Princeton, NJ 08541-6054.
  6. For check or money order, send ALL documents to: ETS – The Praxis Series, P.O. Box 382065, Pittsburgh, PA 15251-8065.
  7. Use your Bearmail on ALL documents.

Read all documents carefully, you’ll notice that one document needs to be signed by your advisor or someone at UNC who can attest that your primary language is Spanish. Then you will need a notary, you can find one a Michener Library.

When all documents are processed you will receive an email, letting you know that your documents have been approved, and this notice expires in one year from that date. Then you just have to call with your voucher # (found on email) and someone will guide you through the process to register for your test.

Hope this helps and good luck!!

2 comments on “Tips on Taking the PRAXIS if you are a Spanish native speaker.

  1. JMelendez
    January 10, 2017

    Hello Pricilla,

    I was not aware of the accommodations for not people who are not native English speakers! That is a very good point to know and share! Also for preparation for the PRAXIS, I have been told from a number of various sources that a good way to study for the exam is to play the game, “Are you Smarter than a 5th grader”! Seriously!! 😉

    JMelendez

    Liked by 1 person

    • PriscilaMarin
      January 12, 2017

      Thanks Joe, I am glad that you found my post interesting. I didn’t know too, but searching I found something that I felt I need to share. I am pretty sure it will be useful for those of us who’s first language is not English. We have to work harder and find little tricks like this 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 29, 2016 by in ELL, Teaching and tagged , , , , , .

Hola!

PriscilaMarin

PriscilaMarin

Latina mom, non-traditional student at the University of Northern Colorado. I am working on my degree in Elementary Education with English as a Second Language (ESL) endorsement and Bilingual Bicultural (CDL) endorsements. I am Bilingual in English and Spanish. Passionate about Bilingual, Elementary Education, ESL, ELL, Multiculturalism, Biculturalism #education #bilingualkids

View Full Profile →

Follow Mrs. Marin’s Learning To Teach Resource Blog on WordPress.com

UNC Graduation day countdown!

The Big Day!May 5th, 2017
A dream come true!
June 2016
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Follow me on Twitter

Giggles & Tales

A Potpourri of my Ramblings, Poems and More…

Filling the pail

"Education is not the filling of a pail, but the lighting of a fire." - As W. B. Yeats never said

When Women Inspire

Highlighting Inspiring Women Around the World

WordDreams...

Jacqui Murray's

