Mrs. Marin’s Learning To Teach Resource Blog

Becoming an ESL, Bilingual/Bicultural teacher one day at a time. This site is for future teachers and teachers of English Language Learners/ CLD. You will find resources in English and in Spanish that can serve as a guide in your journey.

Words you take with you.

Teaching with Reading Mrs. Creasy

In my Teaching With Writing course, we had a journal. Our teacher Mrs. Creasy made it very clear on the first class that in order to teach writing we had to write ourselves. In this journal we could write about anything we wanted. For some of us, that freedom became overwhelming because we are used to teachers telling us what to write about. Surprisingly, I started to enjoy writing in my journal and it became my way to express my feelings, doubts and my personal opinions on a day-to-day basis. Every time we turned them in I got feedback from my teacher motivating me to keep writing. I new that she read every single page because she always wrote a message.

On the last day of the semester, we got our journals back and I was surprised to find a little note. After reading it, tears ran down face, of happiness and sadness. Some teachers will touch your heart, with a smile or a small gesture. She was one of them. Thank you Mrs. Creasy!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 16, 2016 by in learning, Teaching, Writing and tagged , .

Hola!

PriscilaMarin

PriscilaMarin

Latina mom, non-traditional student at the University of Northern Colorado. I am working on my degree in Elementary Education with English as a Second Language (ESL) endorsement and Bilingual Bicultural (CDL) endorsements. I am Bilingual in English and Spanish. Passionate about Bilingual, Elementary Education, ESL, ELL, Multiculturalism, Biculturalism #education #bilingualkids

View Full Profile →

Follow Mrs. Marin’s Learning To Teach Resource Blog on WordPress.com

UNC Graduation day countdown!

The Big Day!May 5th, 2017
A dream come true!
June 2016
M T W T F S S
« May   Jul »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Follow me on Twitter

Giggles & Tales

A Potpourri of my Ramblings, Poems and More…

Filling the pail

"Education is not the filling of a pail, but the lighting of a fire." - As W. B. Yeats never said

When Women Inspire

Spotlighting inspirational women and how you can make a positive impact too

WordDreams...

Jacqui Murray's

