Mrs. Marin’s Learning To Teach Resource Blog

Becoming an ESL, Bilingual/Bicultural teacher one day at a time. This site is for future teachers and teachers of English Language Learners/ CLD. You will find resources in English and in Spanish that can serve as a guide in your journey.

Cumbres Teacher Preparation Program

Cumbres Program

 

The summer of May 2014, I was graduating from AIMS Community College with my AAS degree in Elementary Teaching. My mentors and teachers motivated me to consider transferring to UNC. At that time, I was in the process of becoming a resident and I was still debating to what was I going to do after graduation. I mentioned to my ROTARACT advisor at that time, that I didn’t know anyone at UNC and going there with no guidance was very overwhelming. He gave me the name of a person who worked at the CUMBRES Teacher Preparation Program at UNC.

At CUMBRES is where I found my first friendly face at UNC and it was enough to convince me that it was the right path for me. This person was Aldo Romero. The first time we met, I had so many questions, doubts, insecurities and fears. Aldo and Penny Mascarenas gave me steps to start my journey at UNC.

If you are not familiar with the CUMBRES teacher preparation program, here is the link to all you need to know about this amazing program: http://www.unco.edu/cumbres/

 

 

Leave a Reply

Hola!

PriscilaMarin

PriscilaMarin

Latina mom, non-traditional student at the University of Northern Colorado. I am working on my degree in Elementary Education with English as a Second Language (ESL) endorsement and Bilingual Bicultural (CDL) endorsements. I am Bilingual in English and Spanish. Passionate about Bilingual, Elementary Education, ESL, ELL, Multiculturalism, Biculturalism #education #bilingualkids

View Full Profile →

Follow Mrs. Marin’s Learning To Teach Resource Blog on WordPress.com

UNC Graduation day countdown!

The Big Day!May 5th, 2017
A dream come true!
May 2016
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Jun »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Follow me on Twitter

Giggles & Tales

A Potpourri of my Ramblings, Poems and More…

Filling the pail

"Education is not the filling of a pail, but the lighting of a fire." - As W. B. Yeats never said

When Women Inspire

Spotlighting inspirational women and ways you can make a positive impact too

WordDreams...

Jacqui Murray's

